Youth Rec League Rules

Rec-League Rules & Format:

  1. USA Hockey Rules… (Rule Exception) Tag Up Offsides
  2. No body checking
  3. Slap shots allowed Pee Wee & older
  4. Three-minute warm up, music played NHL style during stoppages of play
  5. Rink reserves right to adjust period length due to ice schedule
  6. Three 12-minute stop-time periods- one-hour ice slots (Squirt-Midget) No Time outs
  7. Overtime: Three player shoot-out, tie games will result in one (1) point for each team, winning team in the shoot-out will receive an additional (1) point
  8. Tiebreakers: Most points, wins, head-to-head, lowest goals against, lowest penalty minutes
  9. All teams are required to wear numbered matching jerseys
  10. Zero tolerance for verbal abuse to an official suspension
  11. All players are required to wear a mouthpiece. (Pee Wee –Midgets)
  12. Coaches must have proper USA Hockey certification & background screening
  13. Games played at Anaheim ICE, Westminster ICE, Yorba Linda ICE, Lakewood ICE, Great Park ICE
  14. League reserves right to trade players to ensure league parity
  15. Rinks Tournament Team opportunities available (contact your Hockey Manager within your rink)
  16. Schedules and standings available on Point Streak (8U & 6U, NO individual or game statistics)

 

8 & UNDER-MITE HOCKEY

6U/8U Cross-ICE-Modified ICE: Division is played modified ice 3 x 3 plus a goalie (One ref per game) (3) minute warm up, three (17) minute run time periods, buzzer set 1:30 second shifts, continuous play, Pull & Go after goals. No Face-Offs

Mite Division Modified ICE: Games may be scheduled as modified ice surface 4 x 4 plus goalie NO Off-Sides, (3) minute warm up, three (17) minute run time periods, buzzer set 1:30   second shifts, continuous play, Pull & Go after goals. No Face-Offs

Mite Penalties: penalty shot; offending player should be escorted to player’s bench so coaches may speak with player.

 

Meet our Rinks & Great Park Hockey Management Team. Please feel free to contact our hockey staff for anything you need.

Hockey Managers

Lakewood & Westminster - Vince Valles VValles@the-rinks.com

Anaheim & Yorba Linda - Jon Mainberger jmainberger@therinks.com

Poway - Dean Wilson dwilson@therinks.com 

 

Youth Hockey Coordinators

Lakewood - Tyler Wilkerson TWilkerson@therinks.com

Anaheim - Carlos Rich crich@therinks.com

Great Park - Nico Santoro nsantoro@therinks.com

Yorba Linda - August Aiken aaiken@therinks.com

 

Director of Hockey The Rinks & Great Park Ice - Rick Hutchinson rhutchinson@therinks.com